top of page
Stay In The Know:

It's going!

It’s been a busy couple of weeks with getting settled and learning the Creole language. All glory to God that I have ACTUALLY been able to retain some of what I have been learning during my lesson. The prayers of the saints are working! Any bit that I remember is extremely helpful when I try to converse with the Haitian people. Needless to say, this barrier may be the hardest thing I have experienced here thus far. In the States, it has always been important to me to include others, make friends, and show others they are appreciated. This is extremely difficult when I am trying to include and love people that make sounds/groans like Charlie Brown’s teacher (youtube it if you don’t know what I mean :) ).

In other news, the missionaries at Bonne Fin were blessed with a very fun and enthusiastic construction team this past week. Hailing from Kansas, this group of people brought a lot of fun and laughter. It was also a huge plus because they spoke English- yay! I even had the opportunity to paint with them in the new ER at the hospital and enjoy the beach with them for an afternoon/evening. And it is thanks to them that we actually have lights in the ER- “Let there be light!” There may have been some whoops of joy when this actually happened :)

I have also been able to have a few get-togethers at Cay 7 over the past couple weeks. Last weekend, I was able to host the Plattner kids (the Plattners are missionaries from my ol’ stomping grounds-IL!) for dinner and games. We did play sardines in my house, which was slightly unnerving- I don’t really like crawling into small spaces at my house in the dark. Luckily there were no gecko or tarantula sightings. Last Saturday, I hosted my first official sleepover with a few girls from Cayes. Shout out to Leah Kaeb for driving unassisted from Cayes to Bonne Fin! (if you have never been on that road, just know it is a far cry from anything resembling even a dirt path). And what girls night would be complete without a P & P viewing??!

Last night, we also hosted our first official kids’ night- NO PARENTS ALLOWED! It was a full house, but we had a ton of fun (there may or may not have been large doses of sugar handed out). As I look at the coming week, I’m excited to start in the classroom (YAY!!!) and continue to build and grow relationships with the local people.

Prayer Requests:

  1. Patience in language learning.

  2. Wisdom in how to develop relationships inspite of a language barrier.

  3. Direction and understanding as my role and responsibilities here start to develop.

Happy Sunday!

Plattner kids enjoying a night away from home.

Me grating cheese for pizza with my girls from Cayes (I felt very chef-ish so Leah K took a pic).

The cutest and youngest member of the Bonne Fin Church Women's Choir.

Visiting with the team and making pudgie pies.

Some of the kids at kids night- what a lively crew :)


bottom of page